European Waterborne Technology Platform appoints Eero Lehtovaara as new chair

The Waterborne Technology Platform elected its new Board during the General Assembly of 15 September 2021

At its General Assembly on 15 September 2021, the Waterborne Technology Platform appointed Mr. Eero Lehtovaara as the association’s new Chair for a period of two years.

Currently, Eero Lehtovaara is Head of Regulatory & Public Affairs at ABB Marine & Ports. As a Master Mariner he takes a special interest in ship management and operating technology, including energy efficiency, bridge operations, navigation and autonomous ships. 

Externally, Eero is ABB’s representative to an array of national, EU and global maritime agencies and NGOs. He is ABB delegate to: Sea Europe, the IMO Green Voyage 2050 Global Industry Alliance and many others. He currently chairs One Sea, the industry alliance on autonomous ships. He was instrumental in starting the CIMAC Working Group 21 on Azimuthing and non-conventional propulsion solutions. Eero Represents ABB in a number of classification societies committees like ABS, DNV and Lloyds Register. Mr. Lehtovaara also chairs the recently established CIMAC Digitalization Strategy Group.

“I feel very honoured with this assignment as Chair and I look forward to serving the Waterborne Technology Platform and the European waterborne sector through these very interesting and challenging times,” Mr Lehtovaara said. “Over the past couple of years, the Waterborne Technology Platform has evolved at a significant speed, both in terms of content as well as in terms of membership. Strengthening the foundations of the Association will be key to be able to deliver solutions for a number of societal challenges, for and by the entire European waterborne sector.

“During my mandate, I look forward to cooperating closely with my colleagues from the broader waterborne sector in Europe, specifically regarding the transition to a zero-emission and digital waterborne sector, which will be key in terms of enhancing or increasing the competitiveness of this strategic sector for Europe”, Mr. Lehtovaara concluded.

At the same General Assembly, the Waterborne Technology Platform also appointed the following Board members: Hermann-Josef Mammes (vice-chair, Meyer Werft), Asa Burman (vice-chair, Lighthouse), Linden Coppell (MSC Cruises), Wilfried Lemmens (Royal Belgian Shipowners’ Association), Reddy Devalapalli (Lloyds Register), Nik Delmeire (Inland Waterway Transport Platform), Vanessa Cauvin (Naval Group), Chiara Notaro (Cetena) and Jochen Marzi (ECMAR).

Read the original press release here